25 Oct 2019


The first day at Busworld is always the Busworld Award Gala Evening, this time at the Brussels Expo. A quick overview of the winners. The Coach of the Year 2020 award was presented to Rudi Kuchta and Jan Aichinger of MAN Bus by Tom Terjesen, president of the International Coach and Bus of the Year Jury. This consists of trade journalists from 22 countries. The Lion's Coach has made a major evolution in its existence. The current generation is equipped with a Euro 6d D2676 470 hp version of the 13-liter engine and a Tipmatic robotised gearbox.

During the test drives the jury noticed that the coach is very quiet everywhere in the interior: little to no noise, the tire noise is nicely muffled and the engine is barely heard, even in the back.

Traditions are there to be respected. Every Busworld Europe edition comes with the Busworld Awards, formerly called European Coach Week (ECW). Ten Busworld Awards were awarded in the bus and coach category. The Grand Award Bus went to the hydrogen-powered Van Hool Exqui.City 18 whoch also won the Busworld Ecology Label, the Grand Award Coach went to the Volvo 9900. The jury ranked the VDL Futura FHD2-135 and the Van Hool EX11H 2nd and 3rd.

The Comfort Bus label was awarded to the Mercedes-Benz eCitaro for its highly ergonomic approach to the driver's desk, the space, the accessibility, the display and the equipment.

The Yutong U12 was awarded the Bus Design label thanks to its European level of design and its overall appearance on the outside. The MAN Lion's City 12G was praised due to its extensive passive safety features for the driver and passengers.

With its new 9900, Volvo wins the Grand Award Coach through good scores on design, maintenance, ride quality, comfort and acceleration. The Comfort Coach Award goes to the double-decker Setra S 531 DT and Van Hool EX11. Both ended ex-aequo. The Design Coach Award goes to the Yutong T13. The jury liked both the design of the exterior and the interior. The Ecology Coach Award also goes to the Chinese manufacturer Yutong for the ICe12.

Then there is also the Busworld Innovation Label in the category 'Non vehicles'. This edition this award was presented to 7 companies: Akasol with its AKASystem AKM CYC, ZF AG for the CeTrax, Mekra Lang and its Digital VisionSystem, GEA Bock GmbH for the HR40 StarCO2mpressor, DAFO Vehicle Fire Protection, Stoneridge Orlaco and MirrorEye and Volvo with the Electric Driveline. Also the Innovation Award was presented for two vehicles, King Long Motor Group with Apolong and Ebusco with the Ebusco 3.0

And the third award giving ceremony was for Sustainable Bus which awarded the Mercedes eCitaro as a battery electric bus with an ambitious development schedule ahead, in the category 'Urban', Iveco Crossway Natural Power in Normal Floor version in the category ‘Intercity’ and the VDL Futura FHD2 in the category 'Coach', whose driveline has been optimized to such an extent that consumption levels marked new records.

This website uses cookies, one of the purposes of which is to calculate visitor statistics. More info Stop showing